• Academic Standing Committee

    The Academic Standing Committee is charged with the enforcement of the regulations on Satisfactory Academic Standing.

  • As a subcommittee of the College Senate, the Academic Standing Committee (ASC) makes recommendations regarding regulations and policies to the Senate concerning academic standing, matriculation processes, degree requirements and the grading system. In addition, a subcommittee of ASC reviews academic appeals.

    Academic Standing Committee Workshop on Academic Policies 2022

  • LaGuardia’s Attendance Policy: Attendance in class is a requirement and will be considered in the evaluation of student performance. Instructors are required to keep an official record of student attendance. The maximum number of unexcused absences is limited to 15% of the number of class hours.

    Note: Absences are counted from the first day of class even if they are a result of late registration or change of program.

    Verification of Enrollment: Verification of Enrollment is a mandatory CUNY requirement. It is important that rosters be certified for each one of the course offerings as it affects compliance with federal regulations and students receiving financial aid. During the verification of enrollment (VOE) period, instructors are required to verify that all students listed are actually attending class. For any student who has never attended a class and there is no documented evidence of the student’s participation in the course (such as a completed assignment, e-mail response, or signature on a roster), select the “No, never attended” radio button.

    1. Use Blackboard Safe Assign and turnitin.com for assignments

    • a. Make the assignment unplagarizable (staged assignments, specific instructions)
    • b. Provide information on plagiarism, instructions on proper citation.
    • c. Include a paragraph of the academic integrity policy on the assignment.

    2. If students are caught plagiarizing, faculty should always fill out an Academic Integrity Complaint Form. It protects both students and faculty members.

    3. The Academic Integrity violation information is not reflected on the student’s transcript.

    4. The Academic appeals committee is a subcommittee of the Academic Standing Committee. They meet twice a month and review 30 appeals (academic, not financial) per month. Appeals must be filed in a timely manner. Students have only one semester to file the appeal.


    Academic Appeals Form
    Academic Integrity Complaint Form

    The Academic Standing Committee is made up of elected representatives from each academic department as well as representatives from the Division of Student Affairs and the Division of Adult and Continuing Education.


    Department Representative E-mail Alternate Alternate E-mail
    Natural Sciences Janet Gonzalez jagonzalez@lagcc.cuny.edu Sunaina Singh SSingh@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Library Alexandra Rojas arojas@lagcc.cuny.edu Chris McHale cmchale@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Academic Appeals Vera Albrecht/Chair valbrecht@lagcc.cuny.edu No Alternate
    Academic Affairs Amish Khalfan akhalfan@lagcc.cuny.edu No Alternate
    ACE Erika Correa ecorrea@lagcc.cuny.edu No Alternate
    Admissions Renee Daniels RDANIELS@lagcc.cuny.edu Shannon Lund slund@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Business & Technology Nicole Lytle nilytle@lagcc.cuny.edu Ahmed Abdelhalim aabdelhalim@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Counseling Ana Mora ANAM@lagcc.cuny.edu No Alternate
    ELA Caterina Almendral calmendral@lagcc.cuny.edu Michele De Goeas-Malone mmalone@lagcc.cuny.edu
    English Lilla Toke/Chair ltoke@lagcc.cuny.edu Tara Coleman tcoleman@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Health Sciences Donna Siergie-Munsey dsiergie-munsey@lagcc.cuny.edu TBA
    Humanities Andrew McFarland amcfarland@lagcc.cuny.edu Poppy Slocum pslocum@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Social Science Kyle Hollar-Gregory khollar-gregory@lagcc.cuny.edu Lisa Silverman lsilverman@lagcc.cuny.edu
    MEC Glenn Henshaw ghenshaw@lagcc.cuny.edu Malgorzata Marciniak mmarciniak@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Registrar Derwent Dawkins ddawkins@lagcc.cuny.edu Burhan Siddiqui bsiddiqui@lagcc.cunu.edu

    What is academic integrity?
    Academic integrity is defined as honestly doing one's own academic work in compliance with assignment requirements and guidelines. Examples of academic dishonesty include cheating, plagiarism, Internet plagiarism, obtaining an unfair advantage, falsification of records or any official documents, and misconduct on internships.

    What constitutes cheating?
    Cheating is the unauthorized use or attempted use of material, information, notes, study aids, devices or communication during an academic exercise.

    What is plagiarism?
    Plagiarism is the act of presenting another person’s ideas, research or writings as your own.

    What is Internet plagiarism?
    Internet plagiarism is plagiarism that includes the submission of downloaded term papers or parts of term papers as your own work, paraphrasing or copying information from the Internet without citing the source and includes other forms of “cutting and pasting.”

    What is an unfair advantage?
    An unfair advantage is any activity that intentionally or unintentionally gives you an unfair academic advantage over other students.

    What constitutes falsification of records and official documents?
    Falsification of records and official documents includes forging signatures or authorization, providing false information on academic records or official documents such as grade reports, drop/add forms, ID cards or other college documents.

    What behavior constitutes misconduct?
    Misconduct on internships constitutes behavior which is inappropriate to a professional setting or in violation of the rules established by either the College or the internship site. Misconduct also includes non-compliance with local, state and federal laws while on internship.

    What can be appealed?
    Grades assigned by teaching faculty can be appealed with appropriate documentation as outlined on the Academic Appeals Form.

    What is the first step in an appeal?
    The first step in the appeal process involves arranging to meet with a counselor to discuss the appeal and the process of submitting an appeal.

    What happens after I submit an appeal?
    After an appeal is submitted, the Appeals Subcommittee of Academic Standing reviews documents submitted with the appeal. After review, the Appeals Subcommittee reaches a decision about whether to grant or deny the appeal.

    When will my grade change appear on my college records if I am granted an appeal?
    If an appeal is granted, a change of grade will be registered with the Registrar and noted on your college transcript within 72 hours after a final decision is made. If the appeal is not granted, the original grade remains in effect.

    How will I be notified of final appeal decisions?
    Notification of final decisions of the Appeals Subcommittee is issued by the Academic Appeals Subcommittee in a letter to you.

    Who notifies me of sanction/penalties imposed for violation of academic integrity?
    You are notified of sanctions/penalties for a violation of academic integrity by the Student Judiciary Officer.