• College is hard work, and you have multiple responsibilities to juggle while earning your degree. Due to a variety of stressors and responsibilities, too many community college students are not able to complete their associate degrees in a timely manner, if at all. ASAP is designed to help motivated community college students stay on track and graduate on time. If you’re selected for the program, we’ll provide you with academic, social and financial support to help you graduate in no more than three years.
    ASAP Logo




  • ASAP Benefits


    The ASAP team is here to guide you every step of the way on your path to graduation. Some of the benefits you could receive as an ASAP student include:

    • A free monthly MetroCard
    • A voucher for textbooks
    • A waiver covering tuition and mandatory fees
    • A dedicated ASAP advisor to guide you to graduation
    • Special class registration options


    The ASAP Resource Center (Room B-208) provides tutoring to help you improve your grades while developing your study skills. Take advantage of resources like computers for research and online assignments, a library of reference books, math software, exercise sheets for math and English homework, midterm and final review sessions, and online tutoring resources. Please note that tutoring is mandatory for all ASAP students enrolled in remedial courses.

    For details about tutoring hours and availability, call 718-730-7550.


    Whether you’ve decided on a career or not, the ASAP staff can help determine your goals and guide you toward a successful future.
    • Explore career options – Take the Career Finder (CF) assessment to help choose the right career based on your interests. Find the assessment through My LaGuardia.
    • Create a resume and cover letter – Meet with us or attend workshops to create or improve your resume and cover letter.
    • Attend a mock interview – A practice interview is required for ASAP students. It will help you improve your professional presence and interviewing techniques while learning what questions to ask and how to prepare.
    • Create a LinkedIn account – We’ll help you develop your web presence and encourage you to reach out to professionals for informative interviews and mentorship opportunities.
    • Attend a career event – Every semester, you’ll get the chance to practice networking and interviewing, explore career options and attend career panels to learn from professionals.


    On-campus student childcare assistance (subject to ECLC’s capacity and funding availability)


    Discover more benefits of joining ASAP
  • Students attending a seminar- ASAP



  • "Being in ASAP was an awesome opportunity which made it possible to get free transportation, free textbooks, free tutoring services, and the most valuable group of Academic Advisors who treat us as their family, and dedicated their precious time in helping us plan our careers and futures." - Khalid




  • Students attending a lecture - ASAP
  • Are you Eligible?


    Requirements at a glance:
    • Enrolled full time
    • Eligible for New York City resident tuition
    • Completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
    • Have not yet completed more than 15 college credits
    • Have no more than two outstanding remedial courses
    • Maintain a GPA of 2.0 or higher

    All majors are eligible, except undeclared nursing, physical therapy assistant, occupational therapy assistant, EMT, radiology, dietetic technician and certificate programs.

    Please note that you cannot participate in both SEEK/College Discovery and ASAP. Compare the two programs.

    See more details about ASAP, and take the ASAP eligibility checklist to find out if you qualify!


    Full Eligibility Details





  • "Being part of ASAP made me feel that I was never alone. I always felt that I had a place to go to whether I needed emotional support, or an extra push to make me work harder. The feeling of anxiety that I would not live up to my full potential because of my setback, quickly deteriorated thanks to this program." - Selma




  • ASAP - How to Apply

    How to Apply


    Simply follow these steps in order to apply, and complete the ASAP eligibility checklist to make sure you qualify. Then, sign up for a recruitment information session, where you can join ASAP on the spot!

    Program slots are limited. Complete the steps as soon as possible to be considered.



    Info Session Sign-up



  • "ASAP has been helping us to explore our potentials, to dare to do more in order to afford our dreams." - Yunxi




  • Vision - ASAP
  • LaGuardia’s ASAP Team 


    Our mission is to support and empower you to take ownership of your self-discovery process through a committed and socially responsible community that stimulates and nurtures a culture of lifelong learning.

    • Student-centered: We support you holistically, helping shape your future and personal development. We do this by creating a space where you can identify and explore your passions.
    • Leadership: We foster a supportive community that inspires and empowers everyone to reach their full potential by embodying the role of a responsible educator, learner and professional.
    • Professionalism: Being willing and ready to work, we hold a self-reflecting spirit that upholds effective communication, accountability, honesty and support, providing tools for continuous growth.
    • Innovation: We strive to foster community through integrating new approaches, best practices and excellence.
    • Development: We celebrate a multicultural environment rooted in dedicated student support, self-care and effective communication, providing all-inclusive growth for the ASAP community.
    • Integrity: We believe in the value of honesty, taking ownership and accountability and being genuine in our relationships. We embrace diversity and aim to inspire, empower and motivate each other to provide a safe learning environment for our community.


    Ramón De Los Santos
    Director
    718-482-5639
    rdelossantos@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Matthew Eckhoff
    Associate Director

    718-349-4043
    meckhoff@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Caroline Mendez
    Administrative Coordinator

    718-349-4050
    cmendez@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Catherine Marrero
    Recruitment Coordinator

    718-730-7444
    cmarrero@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Alexa Duque
    Associate Director
    718-730-7419
    aduque@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Rocio Rosado
    Career Employment Specialist

    718-482-6059
    rrosado@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Danny Ng
    Recruitment Specialist

    718-730-5992
    dng@lagcc.cuny.edu
    David Roze
    Resource Center Coordinator

    718-730-7544
    droze@lagcc.cuny.edu

    Senior Advisors

    Esther Rosa
    718-482-6040
    erosa@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Aura Paulino
    718-730-7567
    apaulino@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Jenny Mayorga
    718-730-7457
    jmayorga@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Jose Ramos
    718-730-7439
    joramos@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Clara Chen
    718-730-7422
    cchen@lagcc.cuny.edu

    Advisors

    Marlenes Berroa
    718-730-7432
    mberroa@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Jason Ronquillo
    718-730-7486
    jronquillo@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Jenny Mayorga
    718-730-7457
    jmayorga@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Brett Cummings
    718-730-7339
    bcummings@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Madelyn Nieves
    718-730-7485
    mnieves@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Michelle Castro
    718-730-7617
    nwoldemichael@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Ashari James
    718-730-7572
    asjames@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Daniel Velardo
    718-730-7425
    dvelardo@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Liana Brower
    718-482-4021
    lbrower@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Lucila Sanchez
    718-730-7487
    lusanchez@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Habiba Braimah
    718-730-7487
    hbraimahs@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Derrick Lee
    718-730-7471
    delee@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Nicole Johnson
    718-730-7420
    njohnson@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Charis Victory
    718-730-7445
    cvictory@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Frank Espinal
    718-730-7483
    fespinal@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Alice Wong
    718-730-7481
    alwong@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Nicole Pellegrino
    718-482-6042
    npellegrino@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Nebyat Woldemichael
    718-730-7618
    nwoldemichael@lagcc.cuny.edu
    Stephanie Buscemi
    718-482-6047
    sbuscemi@lagcc.cuny.edu