Tuition and Fees

Attending LaGuardia is an investment in your future, and you don’t have to break the bank doing it. We make getting a high-quality education affordable. 99% of full-time students receive some form of financial aid, and 98.8% of our graduates have no student loan debt.

Below is the estimated amount of costs to attend LaGuardia.


NYC ResidentOut-of-City/State Resident or International Student
Full-Time Tuition – $4,800/per year
Part-Time Tuition – $210/per credit
Full-Time Tuition – $9,600/per year
Part-Time Tuition – $320/per credit
Academic Status*New York City/State Resident Tuition (Per Semester)Out-of-City/State Resident & International Student Tuition (Per Semester)
Full-Time$2,400 (12 or more tuition units)$320 (Per tuition unit no maximum cap)
Part-Time$210 (Per tuition unit to a maximum of $2,400)$320 (Per tuition unit)
Non-Degree$265 (Per tuition unit no maximum cap)$420 (Per tuition unit no maximum cap)
Non-Degree Senior Citizens (60 and Older)  
Academic StatusStudent FeesApplication Fees
Full Time$208.45$65.00 (Freshman) $70.00 (Transfer)
Part-Time$104.95$65.00 (Freshman) $70.00 (Transfer)
Non-Degree$208.45 (full-time) $104.95 (part-time)$65.00
Non-Degree Senior Citizens (60 and Older)Consolidated Fee: $15.00 Administrative Fee (per Session) $65.00 

This table does not include mandatory fees. The table reflects tuition only. For more information about mandatory fees, please check the table above. *New York State residents must submit a Certificate of Residency from their County Treasurer’s Office to qualify for this rate; otherwise Out-of-State rates apply.

CreditsMatriculated Students
NYC ResidentsNon-NYC Residents


$2,400 (12 or more tuition units)
More than 12Each additional credit: $0.00Each additional credit: $320.00
CreditsNon-Degree Students
NYC ResidentsNon-NYC Residents

$320 (Per tuition unit no maximum cap)

More than 12


This tables does not include mandatory fees. The table reflects tuition only. For more information about mandatory fees, please check the table above. *New York State residents must submit a Certificate of Residency from their County Treasurer’s Office to qualify for this rate; otherwise Out-of-State rates apply.

Each student must pay student fees according to the schedule outlined below. Student fees are paid each semester and are not refundable.

Full-Time Students (12 or more equated credits)
Student Activity Fee $67.00
Consolidated Services Fee $15.00
University Senate Fee $1.45
Technology Fee $125.00
Part-Time Students (12 or more equated credits)
Student Activity Fee $26.00
Consolidated Services Fee $15.00
University Senate Fee $1.45
Technology Fee $62.50
Senior Citizens (Age 60 and older)
Consolidated Services Fee $15.00
Administrative Fee $65.00
Non-Instructional Fees (Non-Refundable)/th>
Freshman Admission $65.00
Transfer Application $70.00
New non-degree application $65.00
Late Registration $25.00
Late Payment $15.00
Change of Program* $18.00
Transcript $7.00
Readmission $20.00
Reinstatement $20.00
Penalty for issuance of bad check $20.00
Duplicate Diploma $30.00
Duplicate ID $10.00
Duplicate Bill/ Copy of Payment Schedule $5.00
Locker Per Year $1.00
Special Examination
First examination $15.00
Each additional examination $15.00
Maximum each session $25.00

Reserve Materials $0.10 per minute, twenty-four hours per day (to a maximum of $100.00) Lost or Damaged Materials Overdue fines, accumulated to the date reported, and replacement costs of the materials, plus a $5 processing charge. Change of Program and Withdrawal Regulations A fee of $18 will be charged each time a program change is made during the Late Registration period. The $18 charge will cover one or more changes made at the same time as follows:

  1. Addition of a course or courses
  2. Changing from one course to another
  3. Changing from one section of a course to another section of the same course

*Waiver of Change of Program Fee No Change of Program Fee will be charged if any one of the following conditions is met:

  1. The College cancels or withdraws a course, whether or not the student substitutes another course
  2. The College changes the hours of the course or makes other substantive changes that provide the student with justification for a change
  3. The College requests that the student transfer from one section to another section of the same course, or
  4. The College cancels the registration of the student for academic, disciplinary or other reasons

Dependent Students

Dependent student (those who receive assistance from family or other sources) can expect to pay $5,217 in annual tuition and fees, plus the following expenses: books and supplies $1,600; transportation $1,320; personal and lunch items $4,142; and room and board $5,644.

Independent Students and Certain Dependent Students

Independent Students and dependent students living away from home for 12 months during the academic year can expect to pay $5,217 in tuition and fees, plus the following expenses: books and supplies $1,600; transportation $1,320; personal and lunch items $4,940; and room and board $22,209.

Costs based on the 2023-2024 academic year.

Fall Session I$224.00
Fall Session II$112.00
Spring Session I$224.00
Spring Session II$112.00

Find more parking information here

Students: 1098-T Notice

The Form 1098-T, Tuition Statement, is issued to help determine if students or their parents are eligible to claim tax credits under the Tax Relief Act of 1997.

1098-T FAQs

1098-T Form Box Description

Learn how to access your 1098-T.

If you spot a discrepancy when reviewing your 1098-T, please contact us immediately at 718-482-7226 or by email at

Tuition Liability Appeal Form

Payment Options

We are committed to helping you and your family finance your education in a way that best suits your individual needs. Please check your “Total Due” and payment date on CUNYfirst. Review the information below to help choose the payment option that is right for you.

Apply for Financial Aid here

You may be eligible for financial aid, including grants, loans, scholarships and work-study employment opportunities. If you haven’t already, complete the financial aid application as soon as possible.

An eCheck payment option is available through CUNYfirst and has no enrollment fee.

Credit or Debit Card

You can use a credit or debit card for single tuition and fee payments through CUNYfirst Self-Service. The service is offered through Nelnet, and there is a service fee of 2.65% for each card payment you make. Nelnet will advise you of the service fee amount before you decide to use a credit or debit card to pay.

Please note that the service fee is in addition to the tuition and fees payment and will appear as a separate charge on your cardholder statement. CUNY receives no part of the service fee.

Enroll in an Interest-free Payment Plan with Nelnet (Partial Payments)

Instead of paying each semester’s bill all at once, the Nelnet payment plan allows you to stretch payments over a period of months.

How To Enroll

A few things to keep in mind before you enroll:

  • The earlier you enroll, the lower your monthly payments since the total amount will be divided over more scheduled payments.
  • Your semester classes will be protected.
  • Nelnet accepts: Visa, MasterCard, Discover and Amex. You may also pay with your checking or savings account online.
  • No cash accepted under any circumstances.
  • This is an interest-free payment plan, not a loan.

The enrollment fee for Nelnet is only…

  • $25 per semester for monthly e-check payments, plus your 1st payment.
  • $25 per semester for monthly credit or debit cards payments plus your 1st payment.
  • All payments after your first payment are automatically withdrawn from your account on the remaining scheduled payment dates which will be on the 1st of every month.
  • Nelnet representatives are not on campus, but if you need assistance enrolling in the payment plan the Bursar staff, in Room C-111, will be readily available to assist you or call Nelnet at 888-470-6014

Apply for a LaGuardia Community College Foundation Scholarship

The Foundation has scholarships ranging from $500 to $5,000 to help you pay for school. The application is simple to complete.

If you’ve had a loss of income and need assistance to pay for food, rent, utilities, healthcare, or college expenses like tuition or textbooks, Emergency Financial Aid may be available to you. To make a request, please send a detailed email message explaining your need to LaGuardia Cares ( In the Subject line, please include your full name and EMPLID. Visit LaGuardia Cares for more information.

Please email with questions and updates regarding third-party vouchers.

This option allows you to obtain a voucher from your employer or sponsor and present it prior to your payment due date. NOTE: This option is applicable only when the College is authorized to directly bill the employer or sponsor. Employee reimbursement plans are not considered third party.

Quick Reference Guide to learn how to view your tuition bill and financial aid.

It is important that you make every effort to settle your tuition bill by the due date to protect your semester registration. Review dates


All fees and tuition charges listed in the College catalog and in any registration material issued by the College are subject to change by action of the university’s Board of Trustees without prior notice. In the event of any increase in the fees or tuition charges, payments already made to the College will be treated as partial payments and notification will be given of the additional amount due and the time and method of payment. Tuition is the sum of monies per term or semester which is required to be paid or satisfied prior to the first day of classes in order for a student to be considered enrolled. Students who do not settle their tuition bill by the established College due date may have their registration canceled the day after the due date. If you register during Late Registration, you must pay any amount due upon receipt of your registration bill, including a $25 late registration fee. If payment is not made immediately, a $15 late payment fee will be assessed. In the event of an overpayment, the appropriate amount will be refunded. NOTICE: If you do not make full payment on your tuition and fees and other college bill(s) and your account is sent to a collection agency, you will be responsible for all collection costs, including agency fees, attorney fees and court costs, in addition to whatever amount(s) you owe the college. In addition, non-payment or a default judgment against your account may be reported toa credit bureau and reflected in your credit report. Please note: It is your responsibility to drop classes if you decide not to attend.

Tuition refunds are computed according to the date a course is dropped.Students who drop courses from their record during the Change of Program period are entitled to a refund according to the following schedule.

Tuition Refund Schedule
All tuition refunds are calculated according to the date that the student drops a course or courses. Non-instructional fees are non-refundable, except when courses are cancelled by the College, a student’s registration is cancelled by the College, or the student enters military, Peace Corps or VISTA service (Please refer to section on Military, Peace Corpsand VISTA Refunds).

Students who drop courses from their record during the change of program period are entitled to a refund according to the following schedule:

Fall and Spring 12-­Week Session I
100%Before the first day of classes.
75%Within six calendar days from the scheduled session start date.
50%Between the 7th and 12th calendar days from the scheduled session start date.
25%Between the 13th and 17th calendar days from the scheduled session start date.
NoneBeyond the 17th calendar day from the scheduled session start date.
Fall and Spring 6-­Week Session II
100%Before the first day of classes.
50%Within five calendar days from the scheduled session start date.
25%Between the 6th and 9th calendar days from the scheduled session start date.
NoneBeyond the 9th calendar day from the scheduled session start date.

f you officially withdraw from a course after the above refund period, you will not be entitled to a refund. If the amount paid is less than the tuition (and/or tuition obligation) plus fees, you are responsible to pay the balance to the College. Please check your account balance(s) by logging on to your CUNYfirst account or by visiting us at C-110.

Tuition will be refunded 100% for those courses which, at any time, are canceled by the College. Failure to attend class, merely giving notice to the instructor or stopping payment on a check are not considered an official drop or withdrawal. It is your responsibility to drop your class(es) if you do not plan on attending.

Medical Leave of Absence

In cases of medical leaves of absence, the refund is calculated according to the last day of attendance. 

If your Medical Leave of Absence is effective after the first day of classes but within the tuition refund period, you will be charged a tuition liability, which is a percentage of tuition and fees owed based on original tuition charges.

Military, Peace Corps and VISTA Refunds

The following guidelines govern all applications for refunds for students withdrawing from the College for service in the military, Peace Corps or VISTA. Please visit the Bursar’s Office in room C110 for assistance.

Military service must be documented with a copy of induction orders or military orders. Service in the Peace Corps or VISTA must be documented with appropriate letters or other evidence. No refund will be made for any course in which a student has been assigned a grade, regardless of whether the grade is passing or failing.

If a student has enlisted in the armed services, the Peace Corps or VISTA, does not attend classes for a sufficient time to qualify for a grade, but continues in attendance within two weeks of induction, refund of tuition and fees, except for the application fee, will be made as follows: Withdrawals before the fifth calendar week after scheduled opening of session, 100% refund; withdrawals thereafter, 50% refund.

Other Refunds

All other non-tuition refunds to which a student may be entitled will be processed in a timely manner.

Withdrawals and the Complete Return of Title IV funds

During the first 60% of the term, students earn Title IV funds in proportion to the time they are enrolled. If a student receives more aid than he/she earned, the unearned portion must be returned to the Department of Education. If a student receives less aid than the amount earned, he/she may be eligible for a late disbursement.

The portion of aid the student is entitled to receive is based on a percentage obtained by comparing the total number of days in the semester to the number of days completed by the latest with- drawal. For example, if you complete 20% of the semester, you have earned 20% of your Title IV aid. If you received 100% of your Title IV aid, you would have to return the unearned portion.

Students who remain enrolled beyond the 60% point of the term are considered to have earned all their aid and do not have to return any Title IV funds.

We are here to help.
If you have questions about your tuition bill, please contact the Bursar’s Office at (718) 482-7226 or

Monday – Thursday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
In Person Help After Hours: Mondays and Thursdays, 5 p.m. – 6 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: Closed

CUNYfirst Payment Due Dates for Spring Session I
(Classes begin March 1st, 2024)

If you RegisterPayment Due Date
Now – January 22nd, 2024Monday, February 5th, 2024
January 23 – February 26, 2024Monday, February 26th, 2024
After February 26, 2024Immediately (Upon Registration)

CUNYfirst Payment Due Dates for Spring Session II
(Classes begin June 20th, 2024)

If You RegisterPayment Due Date
Now – May 9th, 2024Thursday, May 23, 2024
May 10 – June 13th, 2024Thursday, June 13th, 2024
After June 13th, 2024Immediately (Upon Registration)

Note: If you enrolled in a Nelnet payment plan, please follow your payment plan schedule.