LaGuardia Community College Celebrates Faculty and Staff Years of Service

LONG ISLAND CITY, NY (May 30, 2024) — LaGuardia Community College/CUNY extends its gratitude and deep appreciation for the commitment and dedication of its employees. On May 30, the college community gathered in the Main Stage Theater of the LaGuardia Performing Arts Center to celebrate the 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, and 50 years of service anniversaries of employees.

The Years of Service recognition program celebrates faculty, staff and administrators who have achieved employment milestones with the college. As each cohort was announced, Kenneth Adams, President of LaGuardia and Bille Gastic Rosado, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, presented each employee with a certificate and anniversary pin.

This year’s ceremony included a trip down memory lane with a montage of historical events that occurred during each of the celebrated anniversaries. Everything from music, movies, sports and politics were revisited as each cohort was called on stage.

Photos from the Years of Service Ceremony can be viewed on Flickr.

Faculty and staff who are celebrating their 10-year anniversary include: Olga Aksakalova, Lisa Ali, Wyndel Allen, Judi Anderson, Pablo Avila, Ece Aykol, Anita Baksh, Nancy Bandiera, Tameka Battle, Nana Osei Bonsu, Serena E. Bowles, Justin Brown, Cristina Bruns, Kenneth Campanelli, Cheri Carr, Wendy Castillo, Kai Chun Chuang, Jeremy Couillard, Paula Da Silva Michelin, David Daza, Karen Dubinsky, Nicolle Fernandes, Christina Forde, Camila Gelpi, Mohammed Kamal, Lara Kattekola, Amish Khalfan, Praveenkumar Khethavath, Juline Koken, Jessica Korenstein, Silvia Lin Hanick, Stephanie Mancuso, Malgorzata Marciniak, Kevin Mark, Lucy McNair, Buckley Michel, Hector Molina Casillas, Lauren Navarro, Marek Pena, Jessica Perez, Maritza Pritsos, Shannon Proctor, Paula Ramirez, Randy Rampersaud, Kamala D. Ramsaroop, Cory Rowe, Joy Sanchez-Taylor, Leslie Scamacca, Roman Senkov, Allyson Sheffield, Poppy Slocum, Georgina Taraskewich, Benjamin Taylor, Liena Vayzman, Shakira Whitley, Na Xu, Yun Ye, and Dominique Zino.

Faculty and staff who are celebrating their 15-year anniversary include: Omar Ait Hellal, Vera Albrecht, Rajendra Bhika, Fay Butler, Abdou Drame, Demica D. Durr, Liesl Fores-Iza, Andrea Francis, Anthony Garafolo, Dianne Gordon Conyers, Kyle Hollar-Gregory, Rodney Jones, Maria Del Carmen Lara, Shamika J. Lindsay, Ann Matsuuchi, Monica Merenda, Dionne Miller, Yves Ngabonziza, Stephanie Nival, Machli Pierre-Louis, Fawad Rahmani, Thomas Seymour, Ali Sutjianto, Lykourgos Vasileiou, Paul West, and Svetoslav Zahariev.

Faculty and staff who are celebrating their 20-year anniversary include: Leslie Aarons, Abderrazak Belkharraz Idrissi, Nancy Berke, Soraya Ciego-Lemur, Jamal Cooks, Marina Dedlovskaya, Shahir Erfan, Philip Gimber, Stafford Gregoire, Erica Guzman, Unn Hidle, Steven Lang, Shiang-chou Lou, Sharon Long, Karen Miller, Steven Ovadia, Sean Palmer, Joanne Pierre-Louis, Jose Plasencia, Suzanne Rosenberg, John Shean, Sigmund Shen, Frank Wang, Dilrukshan Wijesinghe, and Jing Wu.

Faculty and staff who are celebrating their 25-year anniversary include: Jeffery Batts, Seurette Bazelais, Renee Daniels, Linda Dong, Celisha Hall, Edward Hollins, Sofia Matos, Caroline Mendez, and Wen Ren.

Faculty and staff who are celebrating their 30-year anniversary include: Gordon Crandall, Yvonne Gaul, Javier Larenas, Richard Larreategui, Arthur Lau, Giaman Luong, Jairo Vanegas, and Xiaoping Yen.

Faculty and staff who are celebrating their 35-year anniversary include: Olga Calderon, Dorren Kolomechuk, and Yves Richards.

This year, there were no faculty and staff celebrating 40 or 45 years of service.

Faculty and staff who are celebrating their 50-year anniversary include: Ana Maria Hernandez and Jeffrey Weintraub.

• • • •

LaGuardia Community College (LAGCC), a Hispanic-Serving Institution, located in Long Island City, Queens offers more than 50 degrees and certificates, and more than 65 continuing education programs to educate New Yorkers seeking new skills and careers. As an institution of the City University of New York (CUNY), the College reflects the legacy of our namesake, Fiorello H. LaGuardia, the former NYC mayor beloved for his advocacy of underserved populations. Since 1971, LaGuardia’s academic programs and support services have advanced the socioeconomic mobility of students while providing them with access to a high quality, affordable college education.


Press Information

For press information, please contact: