## LaGuardia Community College Minutes for the College Senate Meeting January 10, 2024 2:15-4:30 pm E-500 and Zoom

# **Voting Senators: In-Person**

Anwarul Aim (Student), Aimeelyn Calandria (Institutional Advancement), Randy Changoo (Division of Enrollment Management), Donniece Davis-Cooper (Student Affairs), Erika Correa (Division of Adult & Continuing Education), Douglas DiCarlo (At-Large Instructional Staff), Michael Downer (Student), Kia Eshghi (Humanities), Daniel Gertner (At-Large Instructional Staff), Bukurie Gjoci (MEC), Dianne Gordon Conyers (Library), Annette Hamilton (Enrollment Management), Abdul Hashim (At-Large Instructional Staff), Sumanth Inukonda (Humanities), John Jara Morales (Student), Karamvir Kaur (Division of Administration), Jill Kehoe (Social Science), Shannon Lund (At-Large Instructional Staff), Margaret O'Sullivan (Non-Instructional Staff), Thomas Onorato (Academic Affairs), Anthony Pappas (Alumni Association), Sabine Rospide (President's Office), Roman Senkov (Natural Sciences), Easter Sim (Student), Sojung Sim (Student)

### **Voting Senators: Online**

Agim Alovic, Abir Apon, Lisa Flores, Mehedi Hassan, Rochelle Isaac, Lucie Mingla, Sumanth Inukonda, Zahara Mutebi, Leslie Scamacca, Sandra Sze

### Non-Voting Attendees: In-Person

Kenneth Campanelli, Alexandra Rojas, Bindu Pillar

### **Non-Voting Attendees: Online**

Loretta Capuano, Rosemay Chaperon, Maria Cook, Hugo Fernandez, Claudette Davis, Lori Hughes, Sada Hye Jaman, Maritza Pritsos, Derek Stadler, Lila Toke,

### I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Kehoe at 2:30p.m.

### II. Approval of Agenda

The Senate unanimously approved the agenda for the January 10, 2024 College Senate meeting.

- III. Approval of Minutes from the November 29, 2023 meeting. Vice Chair Kehoe asked if there were any other modifications. Hearing none, the minutes were approved from November 29, 2023 by Vice Chair Kehoe.
- III. Vote on Curriculum Committee Consent Calendar Items from January 4, 2024 A motion to approve the curriculum committee consent calendar items from January 4, 2024 was made by Senator Gordon. Senator O'Sullivan second the motion. Vote: Aye-26, Nay-0, Abstain-0. The curriculum consent calendar was approved.

## IV. Presentation from the Chair of the Academic Standing Committee

- a. Lilla Toke shared and two items; an informational item and changes to the Academic Calendar. Lilla noted, New Student Orientation (NSO) and Opening Sessions (OS) have switched dates. Orientation will now take place on February 27<sup>th</sup>, while Opening Session will take place on February 28<sup>th</sup>
- b. Lilla shared the academic forgiveness policy, which provides students a second chance to complete their students despite student's prior grades of F, FIN, or WU. The new change reduces student's wait time from 5 years to 3 years, which is aligned with other CUNY colleges.

### V. Vote on Proposed Revised Academic Forgiveness Policy

Senator Scamacca motioned to approve the Proposed Revised Academic Forgiveness Policy. Senator O'Sullivan seconded. The policy was approved.

### VI. Chair's Report

Vice Chair Kehoe thanked everyone for responding to the Senate attendance survey. 31 people responded. Vice Chair emphasized the importance of attendance. 21 people have confirmed attendance for the next Senate meeting on February 27, 2024.

Vice Chair Kehoe clarified the open meetings law. Vice Chair shared that Senate makes policies. Therefore, we are required to have an open meeting, while other committees make recommendations and are not held to the same requirements.

Vice Chair informed Senate about a few changes to the Senate roster: Senator Ortega stepped down she will be replaced by Sojung Sim who will serve as Chair for the Committee of Students. Regina Varin-Mignano, will serve as an Alternate Senator for Student Affairs. Sada Hye Jaman will serve as the new Senator for Business & Technology and Kia Eshghi will serve as the new Alternate Senator for Humanities.

Senator Riccio stepped down, which leaves a vacancy on the Executive Committee for At-Large/Faculty/Staff/Alumni.

VI. Senate's Executive Committee Election

Vice chair Kehoe called for At-Large/Faculty/Staff/Alumni nominations. Senator Scamacca nominated Senator Pappas. Vice Chair Kehoe called for additional nominations. Hearing none, the nominations were closed. Senator Pappas was elected -25 votes

### VII. Committee Reports

- a. Standing Committees
  - i. Committee on Committees (Leslie Scamacca, Chair) Nothing to report
  - ii. Curriculum Committee (Dilrukshan Wijesinghe, Chair) See above for curriculum approval.

- iii. The Academic Standing Committee (Lilla Töke, Chair) See above for academic calendar approval
- iv. Committee on Campus Affairs (Evelyn Lowmark and Anthony Pappas, Co-Chairs)
   The committee met in December to discuss policies that need to be reviewed.
- v. The Committee of Faculty (Daniel Gertner, Chair) The committee is meeting later today. At the last meeting, the committee discussed Transfer, safety issues and the Coach survey.
- vi. The Committee on Professional Development (Deborah McMillan-Coddington and Derek Stadler, Co-Chairs) Nothing to report.
- vii. The Budget and Finance Committee (Patricia Sokolski, Chair) Nothing to report.
- viii. The Committee of Staff and Alumni (Donniece Davis-Cooper and Karamvir Kaur, Co-Chairs) Nothing to report.
  - ix. The Committee of Students (Sojung Sim, Chair) The committee submitted wish list and are waiting for feedback.
  - x. The Committee on Elections (Vacant, Chair) The committee is looking for a Chair and membership. They are looking to streamline the elections process.
- xi. The Executive Committee (Cristy Bruns, Chair) See Chair's report above
- xii. Transfer Committee (Alexa Duque and Misun Dokko, Co-Chairs)
  Vice Chair Kehoe shared on behalf of the committee. They are talking about suggestions on transfer. The suggestions will be shared with the Transfer Council
- xiii. Food Insecurity, Justice, and Community Need Committee (Rebekah Johnson, Chair)Nothing to report
- b. Ad Hoc Committees
  - i. IT Advisory Committee (Jaime Riccio and Ian McDermott, Co-Chairs) Nothing to report

- ii. History Committee (Loretta Capuano-Vella and Charles Keyes, Co-Chairs) Loretta Capuano stepped down as Chair of the committee.
- iii. Online Learning Committee (Sandra Sze and Joshua Tan, Co-Chairs) Professional Development training for Faculty will be on 2/1 regarding online participation.
- iv. Senate Assessment & Review Committee (Leslie Scamacca, Chair) Nothing to report.
- c. Non-Senate Committees
  - i. Advising Council (Jean Buckley Lockhart, Senate Representative) Nothing to report
- X. Unfinished Business None
- XI. New Business None.
- XII. Announcements Senator O'Sullivan announced Course Dog, the new reservation system is available. Trainings and booklets are available if anyone is interested
- XIII. Adjournment The meeting adjourned at 3:46pm.

# Next Meeting: February 7, 2024