• Return to Campus Planning and Operations

    College leadership, faculty and staff are working hard to ensure a well-planned, phased return to campus in accordance with New York State and CUNY guidelines. We remain dedicated to the health and safety of the LaGuardia community.

    Our planning does not stop here; we are continually evaluating our processes and procedures as the public health crisis evolves, and we welcome your feedback. See below to review the Task Force’s plans as well as how to submit your suggestions.

    covid-19 plan


    Report Violation of Reopening Policy

  • Return to Campus Leadership

    Coronavirus Campus Coordinator:
    Shahir Erfan, Vice President for Administration

    Oversees the preparation, review and implementation of campus reopening plans.

    Coronavirus Campus Liaison:
    Theresia Litvay-Sardou

    Responsible for reporting COVID-19 exposures on campus and ensuring that local health officials are immediately notified upon the identification of positive cases.

  • Planning and Operational Task Forces

    Guided by public health authorities and the CUNY Central Office, and with the health and safety of everyone in our community as a top priority, the Fall 2021 Planning Committee will develop scenarios for multiple levels of safe, on-campus density. Committee members represent all campus constituencies. They will consider which programs and services might return to campus under certain conditions, what work may be possible to continue to do from home, the scope of the College’s continued online course offerings, and more.

  • Committee Chair: Paul Arcario, Provost

    Name Title Affiliation
    Betania Acosta-Perez CUNY Administrative Systems Manager Information Technology
    Carmen Escudero SGA Treasurer Student Government Association
    Fehim Hoti SGA Academic Representative - STEM Student Government Association
    Assuanta Howard Interim Assistant Dean of Business Services and Workforce Development Adult and Continuing Education
    Peter Jayasekara Director, Environment Health & Safety Administration
    Jayashree Kamble Associate Professor, English Department College Senate
    Christine Laurent SGA Vice President Student Government Association
    Lenore McShane CUNY Administrative Assistant - English Department DC 37
    Luis Merchant Administrative Officer Student Affairs
    Karen Muehlbauer Senior Communications Specialist Marketing & Communications
    Michael Napolitano Academic Chair, Business & Technology Academic Chair
    Burhan Siddiqui Registrar Director Academic Affairs
    Laura Tanenbaum Interim Chair PSC LaGuardia Chapter
    John Toland Associate Professor, Natural Sciences Department Faculty Council

    Formed to: identify return to on-campus activities per phase, prioritizing those that require employees and students to be on campus; develop a general re-occupancy plan by square footage and not to exceed 50% occupancy limit; review current protocols/criteria and provide comments accordingly based on NYS and CUNY reopening guidelines for cleaning/disinfecting and screening/monitoring; and create a plan for communications, signage and training.

    View the Return to Campus Phase I Report.

    Operational Task Force Membership and Assignments:

    Campus point persons: Human Resources department
    Name Division
    Justin Brown Academic Affairs
    Renee Fuseyamore Student Affairs
    William Lindner Information Technology
    Theresia Litvay-Sardou Information Technology
    Fawad Rahmani Administration

    Campus point person: Lhamo Tshering (Environmental Health & Safety)
    Name Division
    Philip Gimber Academic Affairs
    Denise Gomez, Chair Administration
    Evelyn Lowmark Administration
    Karen Pinckney Administration

    Campus point persons: Ruben Mercier and Orlando Dowell (occupancy limits/arrangement); Eneida Rivas (events – protocol and occupancy protocol/guidelines)
    Name Division
    Diane Colon PSC CUNY
    Salim Djari Administration
    Jin Hyon Lee Administration
    Hannah Weinstock Adult & Continuing Education

    Campus point persons: Patricia Quesada (signage); Human Resources department (current return to campus training) and Denise Gomez, Lhamo Tshering (Environmental Health & Safety)
    Name Division
    Shante Basset Student Affairs
    Loretta Capuano College Senate
    Robert Jaffe President
    Karen Muehlbauer Institutional Advancement
    George Schreiner Student Affairs
    Gina Taraskewich Institutional Advancement

    Campus point persons: Academic Programs (Chairperson/Director), Early Childhood Learning Center, Denise Gomez/Peter Jayasekara (Administration), Hannah Weinstock/Christine Alvarez (EMT, Paramedic and Medical Assisting programs)
    Name Division
    Jacqueline Brashears Academic Affairs
    Thomas Cleary Academic Affairs
    Sonya Evariste Student Affairs
    Renee Freeman-Butler Student Affairs
    Lenore McShane DC37
    Rhonda Mouton Student Affairs
    Steven Ovadia Academic Affairs
    Jessica Zeichner-Saca Academic Affairs

    Was formed to identify all issues and questions that must be considered in order to prepare for reopening and returning to physical activities on campus. View the planning report.

  • Membership and Assignments

  • Questions, Comments and Suggestions

    Please use this form to raise any questions or comments you may have, or suggestions, as it relates to Reopening LaGuardia.






    You are:


    Questions, Comments and Suggestions