LaGuardia Community College Minutes for the College Senate Meeting

May 26, 2021 2:15-4:30 pm (Zoom)

Present and Voting

Erfan Ahmad (Student), Shawn Blackman (Student), Allie Brashears (Natural Sciences), Cristy Bruns (English), Jean Buckley Lockhart (Counseling), Cindy Busch (Division of Institutional Advancement), Loretta Capuano-Vella (At-Large Instructional Staff), Kerlin Chen (Student), Gabriela Concepcion (Student), Erika Correa (Adult & Continuing Education), Eva Espinoza (Student), Thomas Gleisner (At-Large Adjunct), Dianne Gordon Conyers (Library), William (Joonyoung) Hur (Student), Sumanth Inukonda (Humanities), Rochell Isaac (Faculty Council), Ana Jara (Student), Rebekah Johnson (ELA), Jayashree Kamble (At-Large Instructional), Jill Kehoe (Social Sciences), Evelyn Lowmark (Division of Administration), Shoma Nahar (Student), Anthony Pappas (Alumni Association), Eneida Rivas (At-Large Instructional Staff), Mary Rodriguez (SGA President), Tara Scales (Health Sciences), Leslie Scamacca (Business and Technology), Patricia Sokolski (Division of Academic Affairs), Sandra Sze (MEC), Charis Victory (Division of Student Affairs), Ariana Villanueva (Student)

Present Non-Voting

Kenneth Adams, Bokul Bahar, Fay Butler, J. Elizabeth Clark, Debra Engel, Nicolle Fernandes, Hugo Fernandez, Crystal Franklin, Carlos Freire, Jazmine Freire, Janet Gonzalez, Vanessa Gonzalez, Reem Jafar, Robert Jaffe, Charles Keyes, Christopher McHale, Wendy Nicholson, Margaret O'Sullivan, Maritza Pritsos, Alexandra Rojas

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:21pm by Chairperson Cristy Bruns.

II. Approval of Minutes from the May 5, 2021 Meeting

Chairperson Bruns asked if there were any modifications to the May 5, 2021 minutes. Hearing none, the minutes were approved.

III. Vote on Curriculum Committee Consent Calendar Items from May 13, 2021

A motion to approve the curriculum committee consent calendar items from May 13, 2021 was made by Senator Capuano-Vella. This was seconded by Senator Busch. **Vote: Aye-30, Nay-0, Abstain-0**. The Curriculum Committee consent calendar items from May 13, 2021 were approved.

IV. Chair's Report

Chairperson Bruns clarified that the September 29, 2021 Senate meeting is considered a meeting from the prior Senate year as elections will not yet have taken place. She reminded Senators to think about the upcoming Senate year beginning in October 2021.

Alternate Senator Quish will represent the Senate on the newly constituted Student Success Planning Team.

Senator Sokolski will act as Interim Chair of the Budget and Finance Committee due to former Chair Fay Butler's new role as Interim Associate Dean for Student Success.

Advisor to the President Robert Jaffe requested that the Senate play an active role in supporting efforts to improve communication across the campus. If you notice any gaps in communication with regard to students, staff, and/or faculty, please email Chairperson Bruns who will collect and submit information anonymously to Robert Jaffe.

Chairperson Bruns emphasized the role of the Senate in facilitating campus-wide communication, particularly in eliciting concerns from constituencies and reporting back with information. The Senate should encourage both Senators and Alternate Senators to help fulfill this mission.

Chairperson Bruns encouraged Senators to consider getting involved in Senate leadership including running for positions on the Executive Council and various Senate committees.

The Governance Plan Revision Committee raised the question of whether the Senate's current practices of approving curriculum adhere to Middle States recommendations. Middle States dictates that curriculum approval should be the purview of faculty, however, due to the tripartite nature of our Senate, we currently allow staff and students to vote. Alternate processes are currently being considered.

V. Committee Reports

- a. Standing Committees
 - i. Committee on Committees (Charis Victory, Chair)See year-end report.
 - ii. Curriculum Committee (Debra Engel, Chair)
 A comprehensive list of all curriculum items passed during the 2020-2021
 academic year is currently being developed and will be distributed shortly.
 - iii. The Academic Standing Committee (Janet Gonzalez, Chair) The Academic Standing Committee will host a workshop on academic policies in October 2021.
 - iv. Committee on Campus Affairs (Eneida Rivas, Chair) Nothing to report.
 - v. The Committee of Faculty (Leslie Scamacca, Chair) See year-end report.
 - vi. The Committee on Professional Development (Deborah McMillan-Coddington and Christopher McHale, Co-Chairs)
 See year-end report.

- vii. The Budget and Finance Committee (Fay Butler, Chair) See year-end report.
- viii. The Committee of Staff and Alumni (Erika Correa and Eneida Rivas, Co-Chairs)See year-end report.
- ix. The Committee of Students (Shoma Nahar, Chair)
 The Committee of Students successfully worked to implement the Fall CR/NC and Spring NC policies and prominently feature Wellness Center information on the MyLaGuardia page.
- x. The Committee on Elections (Seurette Bazelais, Chair) See year-end report.
- xi. The Executive Committee (Cristy Bruns, Chair) See year-end report.
- xii. Transfer Committee (Ana-Lucia Fuentes and Jayashree Kamble, Co-Chairs) See year-end report.
- xiii. Food Insecurity, Justice and Community Need Committee (Nicolle Fernandes and Rebekah Johnson, Co-Chairs)
 See year-end report.

b. Ad Hoc Committees

- i. Governance Plan Revision Committee (Leslie Scamacca, Chair) See year-end report.
- ii. IT Advisory Committee (J. Elizabeth Clark, Chair) See year-end report.
- iii. Senate History Committee (Loretta Capuano-Vella and Charles Keyes, Co-Chairs)

The Senate History Committee would probably require 4-5 members working toward the goal of creating an understanding of the work of the College Senate within the wide context of the College. The Committee will work to establish a searchable online archive of documents, video, and sound files, collaborate with LaGuardia's Institutional Archives at the Library, create an oral history archive based on interviews with people who worked on or with the College Senate, and create a survey to help identify people of importance to the history of the College Senate.

c. Non-Senate Committees

i. Fall Return to Campus Committee (Jayashree Kamble, Senate Representative) Nothing to report.

- ii. Enrollment Management Planning Group (Jill Kehoe, Senate Representative) See year-end report.
- iii. Online Learning Committee (Allie Brashears, Senate Representative) Nothing to report.
- iv. SIRS Committee (Allie Brashears, Senate Representative) Nothing to report.
- v. Advising Council (Jean Buckley Lockhart, Senate Representative) Nothing to report.

VI. Unfinished Business

VII. New Business

Chairperson Bruns introduced the Equity for Staff in Return to Campus Resolution. President Adams reminded the Senate of the extended remote work policy and the appropriate steps to take to pursue work from home options. Senators suggested revisions to resolution terminology, changing the word "informed" to "consulted" and removing references to faculty. The Senate unanimously approved the resolution in a voice vote.

VIII. Announcements

Senator Rivas asked that Senators and members of their constituencies direct graduating students to the commencement website.

IX. Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Senator Rivas. This was seconded by Senator Capuano-Vella. The meeting was adjourned at 4:31pm.

Next Meeting: September 29, 2021