LaGuardia Community College Minutes of the College Senate Meeting

October 23, 2013 E242

Present and Voting:

Claudia Baldonedo (Adult & Continuing Education), John Clappin (At-Large Adjunct), Ashley Davis (Alternate At-Large Student), Derwent Dawkins (Division of Student Affairs), Francine Egger-Sider (Faculty Council), Monica Ekiert (Education & Language Acquisition), Hugo Fernandez (Humanities), Sohung Ghosh (SGA President), Ikramul Hoque (At-Large Student), Rosann Ippolito (At-Large Instructional Staff), Mohammad Islam (At-Large Student), Valerie Jones (At-large Instructional Staff), Robert Khan (At-Large Instructional), André Keeton (Social Sciences), Charles Keyes (Library), Kader Kone (Alternate At-Large Student), Regina Lehman (Health Science), Wei Jie Liang (At-Large Student), Qiwan Liu (At-Large Student), Biying Luo (At-Large Student), Mahdi Majidi-Zolbanin (Mathematics, Engineering, and Computer Science), Shah Faisal Mazhar (At-Large Student), Caroline Mendez (Non-Instructional Staff), Anthony Pappas (Alumni Association), Arlene Peterson (President's Office), Michael Philogene (Business & Technology), Liria Portes (At-Large Student), Eneida Rivas (Institutional Advancement), Justin Rogers-Cooper (At-Large Instructional Staff), Noam Scheindlin (English), Patricia Sokolski (Academic Affairs), Lynne Teplin (Counseling), Sinying Wong (At-Large Student), Burl Yearwood (Natural Sciences), Jenny Zhu (Information Technology)

Guests:

Loretta Capuano-Vella (At-Large Instructional Staff), Renee Fuseyamore (Division of Student Affairs), Jerry Ianni (Parliamentarian) Claudette Gray (Administration), Nancy Santangelo (Alt. At-Large Instructional Staff), Allia Matta (English)

Meeting called to order at 2:52 p.m. by Charles Keyes, Chairperson

I. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- i) Minutes from September 25, 2013 approved with amendments.
 - (a) Yay-30; No-0; Abstention-0
 - (b) MINUTES APPROVED

II. CURRICULUM COMMITTEE ITEMS

- i) Senator Lynn Teplin addressed the intense focus on reading and writing in two courses voted out of curriculum committee; specifically BTF 101 (First Year Business) and NSF 100 (First Year Seminar for Natural Sciences). Senator Teplin commented that it would be necessary to communicate to instructors and the departments the need to be prepared for students of different skill levels.
- ii) Chairperson Keyes commented that the library was forming a committee to assist in helping provide resources for those students in need.

- iii) Motion made by Senator Hugo Fernandez, 2nd by Senator Eneida Rivas, to approve items voted out of College Wide Curriculum Committee (C.W.C.C.) on March 7, 2013, April 11, 2013 and April 25, 2013.
 - (a) Yay-30; No-0; Abstention-0
 - (b) MINUTES APPROVED

III. CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT

- i) The Chair thanked all those members and committees participating in the college elections.
- ii) The Chair extended particular thanks to:
 - (a) The Senate Committee on Elections
 - (b) Campus Life
 - (c) Office of Information Technology
 - (d) Teresa Saljanin, and
 - (e) Loretta Capuano-Vella

IV. ELECTIONS-Officers

Jerry Ianni, Senate Parliamentarian, conducted the officer elections and explained the process to the membership.

- i) ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON
 - (a) Charles Keyes and Robert Kahn were nominated for the position of Chairperson. Nominations were closed by unanimous consent.
 - (b) Each candidate was allowed up to 2 minutes to address the voting membership.
 - (1st) First Ballot
 - •Keyes-17; Kahn-16
 - (2nd) Second Ballot
 - •Keyes-19; Kahn-15

Charles Keyes is re-elected Chairperson of the LaGuardia College Senate.

- ii) ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON
 - (a) Patricia Sokolski was nominated for the position of Vice Chairperson. Nominations were closed by unanimous consent.

Patricia Sokolski was re-elected by unanimous consent.

iii) ELECTION OF SECRETARY

(a) André Keeton was nominated for the position of Vice Chairperson. Nominations were closed by unanimous consent.

André Keeton was re-elected by unanimous consent.

iv) ELECTION OF AT-LARGE NON-STUDENT

(a) Eneida Rivas and Burl Yearwood were nominated for the two At-Large Non-Student positions. Nominations were closed by unanimous consent.

Eneida Rivas and Burl Yearwood were re-elected by unanimous consent.

v) ELECTION OF AT-LARGE STUDENT

(a) Mohammed Islam and Biying Luo were nominated for the two At-Large Student positions. Nominations were closed by unanimous consent.

Mohammed Islam and Biying Luo were elected by unanimous consent.

V. OLD BUSINESS

i) None

VI. NEW BUSINESS

i) Senator Hugo Fernandez made the following motion:

The College Senate requests that the College hang the Rainbow Flag in the International Hall of Flags immediately.

ii) Senator Robert Kahn proposed the following amendment:

The College Senate requests that the College hang the Rainbow Flag in a prominent position on campus.

- (a) Yay-9; No-20; Abstention-2
- (b) MOTION TO AMEND FAILS
- iii) Motion to Table the debate to November 13, 2013:
 - (a) Yay-2; No-27; Abstention-3
 - (b) MOTION TO TABLE FAILS

iv) Senator André Keeton made a *friendly* motion to amend the original motion to read:

The College Senate requests that the College hang the Rainbow Flag in the International Hall of Flags by January 1, 2014.

- (a) Yay-23; No-4; Abstention-3
- (b) MOTION TO AMEND SUCCESSFUL
- v) Senator Robert Kahn made a motion to read:

The Senate shall endorse a grant proposal written by Robert Kahn and Eneida Rivas to be sent to the CUNY Diversity Grant Competition.

- (a) Yay-7; No-14; Abstention-5
- (b) MOTION FAILS

VII. ANNOUNCEMENTS

- i) Senator Francine Egger-Sider announced a book sale taking place on October 28 and 29.
- ii) Senator Anthony Pappas announced a fundraiser for the Julia Pappas Community Scholarship taking place on November 9, 2013 in Rm. E111.

VIII. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 5:00pm.

Respectfully submitted,

André Keeton

College Senate Secretary &

Senator, Social Science Department