• Computer Science

    Graduates of the Computer Science program are prepared for careers as programmers.

  • The major in Computer Science leads to Associate in Science (AS) degree, and is appropriate for those students interested in mathematics and/or computer science who plan to transfer to a senior college for further study in computer science. The program is administered by the Math, Engineering and Computer Science Department. Graduating students will be prepared for careers as programmers for business and/or scientific applications.

  •  Advising

    In support of the LaGuardia’s mission to educate and graduate its students to become critical thinkers and socially responsible citizens, the College has undertaken a team approach toward advising, designed to support you in your major from orientation through graduation.


    Your advisement team, made up of faculty and professional advisors, will guide you at every step during your college career. They are ready to help you:

    • Explore your major
    • Select introductory and advanced courses
    • Connect you with campus support services
    • Prepare an educational and career plan

    Visit the Advising page to learn more about when to get advised and how to prepare for an advising appointment.


    Please feel free to reach out to these advisors if you have any questions or need assistance, and visit laguardia.edu/visit for directions to campus.


    Advising Team Staff Members Email Phone  Office 
    Laura Barski, Advising Services  lbarski@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-5921  B 235 
    Marangely Colon, Advising Services  mcolon@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-5267  B 100N 
    Darryl Sorrentino, Advising Services dsorrentino@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-5266  B 103D 


    Advising Team Faculty Members  Email Phone  Office Location
    Omar Ait Hellal, Computer Science oaithellal@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-6174   E 218V
    Dmitriy Chebanov, Computer Science Program Director dchebanov@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-5716   E 223D
    Praveenkumar Khethavath, Computer Science pkhethavath@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-5725   E 223L
    Gerald Meyer, Computer Science geraldm@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-349-4041   E 218R
    Lawrence Muller, Computer Science lmuller@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-349-4045   E 223M
    Muath Obaidat, Computer Science mobaidat@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-5626   E 115A
    David Peled, Computer Science davidp@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-349-4058   E 235L
    Luis Rizo, Computer Science lrizo@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-349-4048   E 235F
    Andi Toce, Computer Science atoce@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-5631   E 115E
    Gene Yao, Computer Science   geney@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-349-4057     E 223E  
    Yun Ye, Computer Science  yye@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-5702    E 218H 


     Career Profile and Transfer Opportunities

    Upon completion of a Bachelor’s degree program, Computer Science students will be prepared for careers as computer programmers.


    Computer programmers write code and create software based on the ideas and designs of software developers.



    “Most computer programmers have a bachelor’s degree; however, some employers hire workers who have an associate’s degree. Most programmers get a degree in computer science or a related subject. Programmers who work in specific fields, such as healthcare or accounting, may take classes in that field to supplement their degree in computer programming. In addition, employers value experience, which many students gain through internships.

    Most programmers learn only a few computer languages while in school. However, a computer science degree gives students the skills needed to learn new computer languages easily. During their classes, students receive hands-on experience writing code, debugging programs, and doing many other tasks that they will perform on the job.


    To keep up with changing technology, computer programmers may take continuing education and professional development seminars to learn new programming languages or about upgrades to programming languages they already know.”



    According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the job market for computer programmers is expected to grow 8% from 2012-2022.
    The 2012 annual median pay for computer programmers was $74,280 *.


    *Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2014-15 Edition, Computer Programmers, on the Internet at http://www.bls.gov/ooh/computer-and-information-technology/computer-programmers.htm (visited September 25, 2014).

     Curriculum Overview

    Current Students
    Log in to the CUNY Portal to review your Degree Audit to find out what classes to take.
    Have questions about using Degree Audit? Visit LaGuardia's Degree Audit page for tutorials and how-to guides.

    Prospective Students
    Review the Computer Science Curriculum and the recommended course sequence below.


    Selecting Flexible Core Courses


    The courses you should take to satisfy the Pathways Flexible Core depends upon many factors, including: schools you are considering transferring to, your academic strengths and interests, and credits that you have earned from previous colleges. It is also important to note that some Pathways Flexible Core courses will also satisfy LaGuardia’s Urban Study requirement.


    Computer Science Majors are advised to select the following courses to complete the Flexible Core requirements:

    Course Number Course Name 
    SSP200 World Cultures & Global Issues
    SSN103 US Experience in its Diversity
    HUA101Creative Expressions
    HUP102 Individual & Society
    MAT200Scientific World