• Faculty
  • Appointed or Elected Offices 2011

    Clarence Chan  

    was appointed as the New York Physical Therapy Association (NYPTA) Finance Committee member and continues to serve as the Chair of Minority Affairs Committee of the NYPTA.

    Timothy C. Coogan 

    represented La Guardia Community College on the CUNY-wide Steering Committee of the New Community College for 2010-2011. He was also one of the members of the Planning Committee for the Urban Studies Major
    Program for the New Community College in 2011.

    Daniel Diaz  

    has been admitted as an Attorney and Counselor of The Supreme Court of the United States.

    Maria Jerskey  

    was elected Co-Chair of the CUNY ESL Discipline Council (2011-2014) and Member of the Conference on College Composition and Communication Committee on Second Language Writing (2011-2013).

    Rebekah Johnson  

    served as First Vice President of (2010-2011) and was elected President of New York State TESOL for 2011-2012.

    Janice Karlen  

    was reelected as a member of the County Committee in Union County, New Jersey, June 2011. She is also a member of the Curriculum Committee for the School of Business and Management at Thomas Edison State College and on the editorial board of the International Journal of Applied Management and Technology.

    Mitchell A. Levy  

    was appointed to National Behavioral Intervention Team Association (NaBITA) Advisory Council in December, 2011. He was also re-appointed to National Center for Higher Education Risk Management (NCHERM) Behavioral Mental Health Consultation Team and appointed to New York City Higher Education Task Force on Student Wellness and Anti-Bullying.

    Elizabeth Harris McCormick

    serves as Senator on the University Faculty Senate, CUNY, (2010 – current) and completed her term as Secretary of the CUNY Community College Caucus of the University Faculty Senate (2010-2011).

    Sreca Perunovic  

    was elected President of the 2011 Mid-Atlantic Slavic Conference. He also served his third and last term on the Mid-Atlantic Slavic Conference (MASC) Executive Board. Finally, he served as a member of the Outreach Committee of Women Writing Women's Lives, CUNY (as a member of the Working Group Five for LaGuardia's Middle States Self-Study).

    Bernard Polnariev  

    was appointed to serve on the NASPA Student Affairs Partnering with Academic Affairs (SAPAA) – Research and Scholarship subcommittee (2011-2014).

    Gary Richmond  

    was appointed to the advisory board of The Peirce Group (TPG) in January, 2011, an organization founded by J. Ransdell and N. Houser, General Editor of The Peirce Edition Project, to encourage and promote studies related to the work of the philosopher, Charles S. Peirce, founder of American pragmatism. Following the death of Ransdell late in 2010, Richmond was invited to co-manage (with B. Udell) the website Arisbe: The Peirce Gateway (www.cspeirce.com) and the philosophical forum, peirce-l where he organized a year long 'slow-read' of all of Ransdell's Arisbe papers, inviting noted philosophers and other scholars to emcee one paper each a month throughout 2011. In addition, he was appointed to the Editorial Board creating a special issue of Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society to commemorate Ransdell's life and work.

    Herb Samuels  

    was elected president of The Foundation for the Scientific Study of Sexuality, a nonprofit organization devoted exclusively to supporting scientific research related to sexuality.

    Pauline Spatafora  

    was appointed to LaGuardia's Affirmative Action Committee.

  • Why Choose LaGuardia Thumbnail
    Why Choose LaGuardia

  • 40 Years and Counting

  • Rent an event Space
  • Contact Us Thumbnail
    Contact Us

LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Ave.
Long Island City, NY 11101
Connect with us
Copyright © All Rights Reserved LaGuardia Community College Security LaGuardia Community College Privacy Policy LaGuardia Community College Policies & Governance